SDG Insights

The United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 interconnected goals designed to address global challenges such as poverty, inequality, climate change, and environmental degradation. These goals were adopted by the UN member states in 2015 and are intended to be achieved by 2030.

The 17 SDGs are as follows:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health & Well-being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water & Sanitation
  7. Affordable & Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work & Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation, & Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities & Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption & Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace, Justice, & Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships for the Goals

To measure progress toward achieving the SDGs, the UN has developed a set of 232 indicators that are used to monitor and assess progress at the national, regional, and global levels. These indicators are based on internationally agreed-upon standards and cover a wide range of social, economic, and environmental dimensions related to the SDGs.

Each country is responsible for tracking and reporting on its progress toward the SDGs using these indicators. In addition, the UN produces an annual SDG report that provides an overview of global progress toward achieving the goals, as well as specific recommendations for accelerating progress in areas where it is lacking.

The entries in this project explore these issues and provide in-depth analysis. We hope to promote greater understanding and awareness of the challenges facing our planet, as well as inspire individuals and organizations to take action towards achieving the SDGs.

Most Recent Analyses: